.

What Would You Like to See Go Here?

We are asking the community its opinion on empty stores. Here's your chance to express your views.

There are four empty stores in a row in the Brookwood Shopping Center just dying for new businesses to move in.

The vacant properties previously held the following stores: Ink Stop, , and .

The shopping center, located at Street and Hulmeville roads, currently holds stores such as , , , , and more. Also located at the intersection are , and .

According to signs posted at the vacant storefronts, anyone interested in leasing the stores should contact Sandee Brown at 215-244-5148 or sbrown@kormancommercial.com.

We were hoping to get the public's opinion on what should go here. What do you want to see in this location? Would you like to see another supermarket or a restaurant or a retail store? Or is it about time they put something different there?

Leave your thoughts in the comments section and keep an eye out for more vacant stores like this. If you see another property you think we should highlight, email me at joe.hart@patch.com or add it to the comments section.

Bonnie May 16, 2012 at 12:15 PM
This would be ideal spot for a Planet Fitness since stores that are vacant are next to one another - definitely enough space for one.
Pondeli Hajioannou May 16, 2012 at 12:56 PM
Well there is a vacant spot at the shopping center I am in on Bristol Pike. Day does not go by that another owner has to close his/her doors because of the lack of business. Let’s talk about how we can help the businesses that are here in Bensalem stay open.
Don Lafferty May 16, 2012 at 01:23 PM
Apple Store.
Wendy Saddler May 16, 2012 at 02:16 PM
I not only agree with Pondeli, but I also beleive that we have way too many low paying, abuse taking fast food/ retail jobs. We need to focus on bringing in REAL jobs to this town, jobs that provide valuable services to the people within it, not take away from it. We also need to focus on the budget of this town, and how we can repair it, so that this town doesn't go bankrupt.
Mike Palmer May 16, 2012 at 02:17 PM
Going out on a limb here; a great restaurant I ate the best Chicken Wings even!!!! In North Carolina called Zaxby's; will not disappoint us! This will be a great business to have here in Bensalem, because there isn't any place here even close to offering what Zaxby's can provide; Great food and the greatest Chicken Wing on rhe planet, at very reasonable prices. I know the business will be successful; they could compare the great success that Golden Coral has had here; they to came from North Carolina. Thanks for this opportunity to make suggestions to bring great business to Bensalem.
Dave Fiedler May 16, 2012 at 03:24 PM
Problem with this location for a restaurant is lack of clear-line visibility from Street Road. Most chain restaurants today require a free-standing unit that they can design and build to meet a specific profile. A location inside a strip shopping center, especially one with set-back and blocked line-of-sight this one has, doesn't meet this criteria. Every restaurant that's been there has failed (mostly over lack of business)--Horn & Hardart, OCB and the one that preceded H&H (I forget its name). In this economy these stores may prove challenging to lease with any degree of sustainability. Hopefully an entity does come along to take them on that has some degree of staying-power even if it's not quite the identity we'd prefer. When you think about it Bensalem is already over-banked, over drug-stored and overly covered up by fast food. We could use more dine-in's, but this is probably not the location to attract them for the reasons mentioned.
Pondeli Hajioannou May 16, 2012 at 04:26 PM
One of the things you take into consideration when opening a place is how safe you, your staff and customers are. Posting every single thing the Bensalem Police are doing in the Patch makes our community look as we have a problem with crime. The Bensalem police are going a great job. Take notice how many articles are about police activity and how many are about how well businesses are doing. If I lived in another community and open the patch I would think twice before I came to Bensalem to shop. We need to encourage people to come here not scare them away. In hard times we need to band together and work for the common good.
Jacqueline Stanley May 16, 2012 at 04:34 PM
I think a Dollar Store will be good, a Food Basic store, which is very reasonable in there prices, a Pathmark, I go to philly to go food shopping, I don't think we need anymore pizza places, bars, It's hard enough to shop for food, b/c of being so expensive, people can get good deals, there is also a store called Deals, which sells alot of things , Need to check them out,
Joe Hart (Editor) May 16, 2012 at 05:28 PM
Thanks for all the great suggestions. Keep them coming.
Mike Thomas May 16, 2012 at 05:41 PM
This is a great article! I would like to see any locally owned business and not a chain store be put in those spaces. I disagree with Pondelli, once again... Public Safety logs are a part of news. They are in the newspapers, on other patch sites, etc. It's what happens, I as a business owner like to read them so that I can keep an eye out for trends in crime near my place of business. Pondelli, what are your suggestions to bring business here, besides the Bensalem Business Association? Jael, the town can't pick and choose what businesses come here, If it is zoned a certain way, then the town has no say to deny a fast food business or other legal job. In fact, it's the low paying fast food/walmart types that are keeping a lot of people from being unemployed and homeless right now.
John Brady May 16, 2012 at 08:14 PM
How about a Seafood America! The closest one is all the way up in Warminster. This would be a great place to get Seafood to go for all occassions.
Matthew May 16, 2012 at 09:15 PM
Mr.Fiedler, How come you never gave this opinion(over banked, over drug stored....etc) when you were the Towns chief Ra-Ra guy?
Matthew May 16, 2012 at 09:17 PM
I agree with John Brady, and also I heard that Seafood Shanty's are franchising again!!!!
Sharon May 16, 2012 at 09:27 PM
Jacqueline, there is a botton dollar food store on street road. its where the staples use to be. But i agree with Bonnie. Put a planet fitness there so this way the one in trevose isnt so mobbed all the time. And/ Or someone can open up a place for kids to go and have fun. Get them off the street. A indoor skate park or a roller rink like there use to be. I think that would drop the "crime rate" that people say bensalem has.
Nancy Campbell May 16, 2012 at 09:38 PM
A cool pawn-jewelry store like in the show hard core pawn ( would probably be a big hit being so close to casino) or Mongolian BBQ restaurant - ate at in on in Michigan was fabulous!
Matthew May 16, 2012 at 10:00 PM
Planet Fitness!!!
Matthew May 16, 2012 at 10:05 PM
A pawn shop would get tons of business in "Business Friendly Bensalem" I'm sure! Also how about a free day care for the people who want to just run into the Casino for an hour or so?
Jacqueline Stanley May 16, 2012 at 11:33 PM
I agree with Matthew, and Nancy, it would be great for a pawn store, I love them , I know i would be there most of the time.. Great Idea,
Jacqueline Stanley May 16, 2012 at 11:34 PM
I know, but this is called food basic, there is a difference, bottom dollar dont carry everything, like food basic, just a suggesting,,
Pondeli Hajioannou May 17, 2012 at 12:40 PM
Fun Center Power Sport just open its door at 2639 Bristol Pike right across the street from my place. This had been a motorcycle place for many years and closed a couple years back. Now with new owners Alan & Greg are handling Yamaha Bike, Quads etc… Let’s all wish them all the best. Alan for many years had run the place for the past owner.
Saliqa Khan May 17, 2012 at 12:46 PM
Ditto! I would LOVE to have an Apple Store close by...
Sharon May 17, 2012 at 03:05 PM
no i just confirmed with someone who shops there it is bottom dollar. the one across from wendys
Rick James May 17, 2012 at 05:54 PM
Whole foods or trader joes!!!!!!
Ken May 18, 2012 at 06:32 PM
We need a local PF Changs. If not in these units how about in Parx. An indoor play center for kids could be great. Have huge playsets like all the local parks do but inside so the kids could go at any time (rainy days, etc.) Not so sure how they would afford the rent though, probably very expensive.
Tina May 31, 2012 at 01:28 AM
Whole Foods or Trader Joes
Jacqueline Stanley May 31, 2012 at 02:31 AM
Love that idea..:)))))
Sagelee June 09, 2012 at 02:22 AM
Should add another supermarket like Freshgrocer or Walmart and Of course a Gym.
Sagelee June 09, 2012 at 02:23 AM
A religious store too. I give readings lolll
PC Wren July 05, 2012 at 12:39 PM
Chinese buffet, like the Hibachi Grill at Franklin Mills.
T.B. July 05, 2012 at 01:00 PM
A local Trader Joe's would be amazing. Their products are amazing and the prices are reasonable. PLUS that type of store would likely help out the entire plaza. If a Trader Joe's doesn't work out, it would be great to have a workout franchise move into the space. The negative about having a pawn shop move in is that pawn shops tend to bring a lot of undesirables to the area as well.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »